Celebrate Passover with Yavneh, The UU Fellowship of Raleigh, and As Salaam Islamic Center
New to Passover and wondering what to contribute to the potluck dinner?
Passover is the story of the Hebrew people's escape from Egypt. When they left they didn’t have time to let their breads rise before going into the desert. Because of this, any type of leavened bread or bread product is prohibited during Passover. These leavened products, known as chametz, include certain grain-based foods like breads, pasta, pastries, breadcrumbs, crackers, etc.
For this Seder, while use of certified Kosher products is generally not expected, we do request you follow these general guidelines:
- Grain-based products are typically not considered kosher for Passover. Matzo, matzo meal, and matzo cake meal are used as substitutes for bread, bread crumbs, and cake flour, respectively.
- Please avoid pork, shellfish, lobster, shrimp, crab, rabbit, and seafood without fins or scales (like swordfish and sturgeon).
- Although either meat or dairy items may be contributed, please avoid combining in a single dish. Fish and eggs are considered neutral. They can be served with dairy or with meat.
- Vegetarian and vegan dishes are welcome and encouraged.
- If you do bring meat (chicken, beef, or lamb), please be sure it is kosher or halal.
- Although some Jewish communities avoid rice, corn, millet and legumes, others do not, so these are acceptable.
- All fruits and vegetables are fine.